National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Susan G. Komen for the Cure

Understanding how Breast Cancer affects us all is very important to overall health.

What are the estimated numbers of new breast cancer cases and deaths in the United States for the year 2010?

About 207,090 new cases of invasive breast cancer will occur among women in the United States during 2010. And an estimated 39,840 women will die from breast cancer this year. Also, about 1,970 men will be diagnosed and 390 men will die of breast cancer during 2010 in the United States. In addition to invasive breast cancer, an estimated 54,010 new cases of in situ breast cancer will occur among women in 2010.

African Americans

Breast cancer is the most common cancer among African American women. It is also the second leading cause of cancer death among African American women, exceeded only by lung cancer. In 2009, an estimated 19,540 new cases of breast cancer and 6,020 deaths were expected to occur among African American women. Although breast cancer incidence is lower among African American women, they have a 38 percent higher breast cancer death rate than Caucasian women. Breast cancer survival in African American women has increased in recent decades. However, survival rates among African American women remain lower than among Caucasian women. From 1999-2005 the five-year survival rate for breast cancer among African-American women was 79 percent compared to 91 percent among Caucasian women. There are many possible reasons for this difference in survival. Biologic and genetic differences in tumors, the presence of risk factors, barriers to health care access, health behaviors and later stage of disease at diagnosis may all play a role. It is important to know that mammography increases the chance that breast cancer will be found at the earliest, most treatable stages. Annual mammography screening and effective treatment offer the best chance for decreasing mortality and improving survival. For more on African American ethnicity and breast cancer, visit the Risk Factors and Prevention and Early Detection and Screening sections.

5 thoughts on “National Breast Cancer Awareness Month

  1. Tia Stringer says:

    I a gonna be my mammogram but now my insurance is stating that if we are not at risk then they will not pay for it. That is a crock because breast cancer can be diagnosed in any woman or man at anytime, so I will have my mammogram next month. Please ladies do you best to keep us alive.

  2. ingrid says:

    I remember my first scare with my breast. I had worked the night shift and when I got home from work I was so tired, I leaned forward on my steering wheel to exhale. I was so glad to
    be home. My breast pressed against the steering wheel—oh no! I lifted my body up n
    could not believe what I felt. I instantly was in denial. I made myself touch the area where
    I felt this hard knot. I got out my car and start crying. I made an appointment to see a Doctor
    the next day. Happy thing—it was only a cyst. Thank God
    Women don’t like to or should I say, “not in the habit of checking our breast.” This is
    some thing we as women need to get in the habit of doing. I have had 2 breast scares and
    each time, cyst. Whew!

    • Thanks Ingrid for sharing your experience. I am HAPPY and BLESSED what you felt was not what first came to mind…It is very important for women to get regular exams and do self breast exams, which is VERY important because Early detection helps save lives. I have my annual this month and I am sure I will have a mammogram scheduled, which will be my first. I am a little nervous, but I know the importance of these exams and how knowing is better than not knowing.

  3. Sweet T says:

    Early detection is the key! I know several women who are breast cancer survivors and early detection including regular self exams probably helped save their lives. I do regular self exams and I had my first mammogram this year. Although it was a little uncomfortable, it was well worth it. As mothers, grandmothers, wives, sisters, and friends-who are loved dearly and highly depended upon-we must be vigilant about our health. DO THOSE SELF EXAMS!
    P.S.- A great number of lumps have been detected by husbands or mates (unintentionally, I’m sure). Be that as it may, let’s get everybody involved in those self checks 😀

    • Well, I had my first mammogram this month…you were right, Sweet T, not painful…but I was nervous. However, I was called back for an additional review. Now that was very nerving. Although you pray and others pray for you, you still have that uneasy feeling. After my second mammogram, which was a little more uncomfortable that the first…I was told everything looked good.
      There are so many things we have to do for ourselves-to make sure we maintain good health-So the importance of annual checkups cannot be stressed enough….Live in Full Bloom 🙂

Leave a Reply

